Post a game

Find additional players by sharing your game with friends and followers

The Ashes

The Ashes is one of the oldest and most prestigious rivalries in the world of cricket. It is a biennial Test cricket series played between England and Australia, with the winner taking home a small urn called the Ashes. The Ashes has a rich history that dates back to 1882 and has been a source of intense competition and excitement for cricket fans all over the world. In this blog post, we will take a closer look at the history of the Ashes and some key statistics associated with the series.

History of the Ashes

The story of the Ashes begins in 1882 when England lost a Test match to Australia on their home ground at The Oval in London. The defeat was so devastating for the English cricket team and their supporters that the Sporting Times published a satirical obituary, declaring that English cricket had died and that the body would be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia. The term "the Ashes" stuck, and it became the name of the cricket series played between the two countries.

The first Ashes series was played in 1882-83 in Australia. The series was won by Australia, who won the first Test in Melbourne by nine wickets and the second Test in Sydney by four runs. The third Test, which was played in Adelaide, ended in a draw. The return series in England in 1884 was won by England, who won three of the four Tests played.

Since then, the Ashes series has been played regularly, with the exception of the two World Wars. The series has been played 73 times, with England winning 33 times, Australia winning 33 times, and 7 series ending in draws.

Key Statistics

Here are some key statistics associated with the Ashes:

  • Highest team score: Australia's 701/7 declared in the fifth Test of the 1930 Ashes series.
  • Lowest team score: Australia's 36 all out in the first Test of the 1902 Ashes series.
  • Highest individual score: Brian Lara's 400 not out for the West Indies in 2004 is the highest individual score in Test cricket. The highest individual score in an Ashes Test is 334 by Don Bradman for Australia in 1930.
  • Most runs in an Ashes series: Sir Donald Bradman scored 974 runs in the 1930 Ashes series, which is the most runs scored by any player in a single Test series.
  • Most wickets in an Ashes series: Sydney Barnes of England took 49 wickets in the 1913-14 Ashes series, which is the most wickets taken by any player in a single Test series.
  • Most successful captain: Sir Ian Botham of England and Steve Waugh of Australia share the record for the most Ashes wins as captain, with 8 wins each.
  • Closest finish: The second Test of the 1960-61 Ashes series ended in a tie, which is the closest finish in Ashes history.


The Ashes is a cricket series steeped in history and tradition. It has provided some of the most memorable moments in cricket history, with both teams fiercely competing for the urn. The series has seen some great players, both past and present, and has produced some remarkable performances. The Ashes is a true test of a team's skill, character, and determination, and it continues to be a source of inspiration and excitement for cricket fans all over the world.